The UK appears to be paying for several centuries of ‘Rain, Rain, Go Away…’

Apparently, there is a storm about to hit the south of England the likes of which hasn’t been seen since The Great Hurricane of 1987.

I live in the south of England.

Or, to be more precise, I live in the most flood-prone section of the south of England, and I happen to live in a 40-mile wide basin between several hills. I’m still not sure what all the fuss is about, though, as there’s nothing here but trees. While I can understand removing all the leaves from your garden so they don’t block the drains, I think it’s a little premature to sandbag your house. Especially as the storm isn’t supposed to hit until Monday. It’s Saturday, everyone!  And this is England! It rains on an almost daily basis! So what if it’s a little windy as well?

In other news, I have unwittingly been entered into a competition with my brother to see who can run the 1.9 mile circuit next to our house in the fastest time. My personal best is 17.46* (minutes, not hours, amazingly), which I didn’t think was too bad seeing as I’ve only been running it for two weeks. That was until my thirteen year old brother went out this morning and ran it in 14.02, and had the gall not to even appear out of breath afterwards.

In fairness to me, I do not run cross-country for the county and I do not play sports on a regular basis.

On the other hand, my brother is not allowed to beat me at anything, ever, so I am prepared to rip a few muscles to shreds if that’s what it takes to beat him.

Also, the times are now on the kitchen wall, and I can’t actually live with the shame of everyone knowing that I am officially slower than my little brother. Although I have an incentive not to do too well: my mother has threatened to enter me into a race if I start running the circuit in less than 14 minutes.

 

*UPDATE: It’s now 17.10, but I nearly died, which isn’t really the effect you want from exercise.

2 thoughts on “The UK appears to be paying for several centuries of ‘Rain, Rain, Go Away…’

This is the internet. Go on, start an argument.

